Guacamole and Cucumber Slices

14 Sep

20120914-122126.jpg

While visiting my parents I usually reserve half of my suitcase for paleo snacks. This time I tried to keep it simple and just go shopping for the minimum once I got here. This is a small town, so no coconut milk, almond flour, unsweetened dates, or even unsweetened shredded coconut. My Mom would normally suggest I eat a sandwich so I bought the equivalent which I consider to be lettuce and meat for wraps. We also bought toasted sunflower seeds, olives, blueberries, bananas, beef jerky, lacroix, no sugar added salsa, avocado, cucumbers, and carrots. These are all things both my toddler and I can eat, and take on the go. I’m doing my best not to succumb to the left over box of pizza in the fridge. This guacamole should help keep me satisfied.

1 avocado
1 sliced cucumber
1/2 tsp garlic
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp lime juice
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Mash up the avocado with the seasonings and dip your cucumber chips. I happened to find a salsa with no sugar added, but you can also make your own.

1 large tomato diced
1/2 small onion minced
3 minced cloves garlic
Juice of 1/2 lime
2 Tbsp fresh cilantro
Dash cayenne pepper

Leave a Reply

