Why is it so cold outside?

23 Jan

20130123-082706.jpg

Chicago is freezing! It’s so cold outside that while waiting for the bus last night my legs were numb. This brings me to the topic of stocking the heck out of your freezer in the winter. Every two weeks I get groceries and I try to pick an assortment of meats, frozen vegetables, nuts and dried fruit for trail mix, and a few shelf stable things like canned tomatoes and single serve apple sauce. I also buy a few days worth of fresh fruits and vegetables, especially bananas and blueberries, yum. When I trek home from the gym I stop and buy fresh items here and there, but in the winter I cook and meal plan primarily from the freezer. I think my next shopping trip I will post my grocery list so I can share how it is that I really only grocery shop twice a month.

This morning I began prepping my 3 lb pork shoulder for stir fry. I cut the skin off using scissors and seared it in bacon fat in the dutch oven on the stove top with 2 tsp salt, 2 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. It’s slow cooking now for 3 hours on 350 in a sauce of water, vinegar, and paleo teriyaki sauce (recipe to come). I’ve made a veggie mix ready for the wok using mixed veggies. One of them does include a small amount of corn, but you can use any variety you want, or just pick out the corn, ha ha. Paleo cooking doesn’t have to be all freshly picked, hand diced vegetables. I love to eat fresh in the summer, but in the winter I’m content to live primarily out of the overstocked freezer 🙂

Leave a Reply

