Garlic Rosemary Roast Chicken

28 Jan

20130127-140036.jpg

Okay, okay. I know. Another roast made with bacon fat. Well I just can’t help myself šŸ™‚ Rinse your chicken and remove the giblets. Rub it down with bacon grease. Sprinkle each side with 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp freshly ground rosemary, 1/2 tsp garlic. I don’t have a rotisserie, but I do have metal skewers which I poke through each shoulder down through the bottom and across under the wings and legs to prevent the chicken from touching the bottom of the pan. Cook on 375 for approximately 2 hours for a 5 pound chicken.

THEN…. Once the chicken cools I immediately eat the crispy delicious wings before I clean all the meat off the bones. I then put the bones in a pot with water and this is the important part: scrape the brown crispy drippings from the bottom of the chicken pan and add it to the pot. Bring to a boil, agitate, and turn it off to cool. Pour the broth into a freezer bag and store for the next time you want to make soup or the next time you get sick. I never waste a chance to make a nice chicken broth šŸ™‚

Ingredients:
5 pound chicken
2 tsp salt
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp freshly ground rosemary
6 to 8 metal skewers
9×13 inch cake pan
tin foil
bacon grease

Leave a Reply

