Cinnamon Apple Walnut Bread

25 Apr

So lately I’ve been buying gluten free instead of taking the time to bake paleo. We had extra diced apples left over so I felt inspired πŸ˜‰ Also I like to complain about the cost of almond and coconut flour and then spend $20 on yogurt and $20 on gluten free cereal. I need to break the cycle. I’ve been ordering groceries from Peapod so it’s much easier to see what I’m buying and how much from each department. Or finding alternatives like deleting ice cream and adding frozen chocolate bananas πŸ™‚ Even at the grocery store I will audit my cart before checkout for “paleo-ness” and put back a majority of cheats. I’m only human after all.

Any variations on this recipe are encouraged!

ingredients

1 1/2 cup diced apples
4 eggs
4 Tbsp Coconut Flour
4 Tbsp melted coconut oil
1/4 cup Madhava coconut sugar
2 Tbsp chopped walnuts
1Tbsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder

Preheat oven to 350. In a bowl mix eggs and coconut flour and let sit. Grease a 9×9 glass baking dish with some of the melted coconut oil. Add remainder of oil to bowl followed by cinnamon and most of the coconut sugar. I saved a little less than half for sprinkling on the top. Add remaining ingredients with apples being added last saving 1/2 cup of apples for sprinkling across the top. Pour mixture into baking dish. Top with apples, then walnuts, and finally remaining sugar. Bake 20 to 25 minutes.

20130425-081749.jpg

20130425-082343.jpg

Leave a Reply

